1 Comment

Vampire Knight by Hino Matsuri

STOP (in the name of love)! Whilst I have left this old busted early effort of mine here for the sake of posterity, there is a better, longer, faster, stronger version to be found here (the new hotness). Read this one of you like, but the newer version is far more representative of my reviewing and writing style now.

“Vampire Knight” by Hino Matsuri was the first manga I read on onemanga.com (R.I.P.) and I found it utterly addictive. To the point that when I was meant to be writing an essay, I made a deal with myself: For every paragraph I wrote I was allowed to read a page. Of course, eventually this turned into a sentence per page.

“Vampire Knight” is beautifully drawn, (watch out for the hypnotic eyes) and has an intriguingly-written mystery story behind the shoujo vampire romance stuff. SYNOPSIS: Yuki Cross was discovered wandering in the snow as a young girl, with no memories of her previous life. Ten years later she is a prefect at the prestigious Cross Academy, or rather by day she is merely a prefect – by night she is a guardian to the Academy’s greatest secret: That the impossibly beautiful elite Night Class are all vampires.

This is an ongoing series, which may put some people off – but I highly recommend reading this modern classic of manga  as it is a very satifying read, and very accessible to new-comers to manga.

Stay tuned.

EDIT: Hey, want to read a later more in-depth review? https://mangaaddictsanonymous.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/vampire-knight-revisited/

One comment on “Vampire Knight by Hino Matsuri

  1. […] recently re-read the entire thing from start to finish. So, has my opinion changed that much since my first (read:old and busted) review? Let’s re-evaluate, shall […]

Leave a Reply

